a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more…

Shamrock Run 5K race recap

4 Comments

shamrock run 3.17.13

If you ever want to get up early in the morning and put on a ridiculous outfit, your local Shamrock Run is the place to do it.

I tell you, I had mixed feelings about doing today’s race. I haven’t done an organized race event in about a year and a half. So doing this one was just to “sign up for something” to get me excited about running again, and get back into the swing of things.

I had way more anxiety over this race than was rational. I actually woke up at 5am Saturday morning, thinking it was race day, freaked out that I didn’t set my alarm, didn’t lay out my clothes, didn’t prepare my breakfast, didn’t plan my commute, etc etc.

Then this morning I did the same thing. I woke early from an anxiety dream where again I woke up on time, but somehow took too long to get ready so I missed the race completely.

I kept telling myself (in normal waking hours) that this is just a 5K, piece of cake, nothing to worry about. Also, my plan was not to do any real specific training for this race, nor to have a goal.  The goal was really to establish a baseline, see where I am at, if I were to just go out and run a 5K without much training. So with no real goal, there should have been so pressure. Why the anxiety?

I’ve been running about 20-25 miles per week, all at slow paces around 9-11 minutes per mile. The plan was to establish a base, do this 5K, then make a plan for my next race, which is a Half Marathon I’m signed up for May 19.

So here’s how it turned out.

I actually felt pretty good the whole run. The first half mile was really a test at how good I was at maneuvering through the crowd. After that it cleared up and I could run at a steady pace I wanted without any congestion.  I ran at “comfortably hard” pace the whole time. I’ve always liked that description that most people use to explain “tempo”.  It’s a nice pace to run at, actually. Pushing yourself but not pushing yourself.

The real race results are not posted yet from the event. By my Garmin my time was 25:17, a 8:08 pace overall.

1st mile 7:54

2nd mile 8:15

3rd mile 8:17

.1 mile  0:53

I feel pretty good about this. Since I didn’t know what to expect, that’s actually pretty easy to feel good about it. But I also think that I can now start putting in some more serious weekly mileage, and do some speed work, and would be able to attain an 8:00 pace for the Half.

So how about you? Did you do a Shamrock Run in your town?

Many cities all over the nation do Shamrock Runs.

It’s one of the best excuses to dress up in ridiculous green clothing.

Author: Kay-Kay's Bird Club

Hat-maker, Bird lover, Star gazer, Scooter rider, and Running fool.

4 thoughts on “Shamrock Run 5K race recap

  1. Congrats on a well-executed race!
    I’ve had my share of pre-race anxiety dreams. Ugh. I find that they’re more common the less I race, because I’m not as tuned in to a pre-race routine. I think that’s one of the real values of “tune-up” races. Good luck training for your half!

  2. I have those same annoying anxiety ridden dreams before I have to get up super early for anything. Congrats on your race! Good luck on your half Mary!

Leave a Reply

