a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more…

New Hat Venture

Leave a comment

I’ve been working hard for the past three days on some new hat patterns.

I’ve decided to try opening up an Etsy shop to sell my hats.  I’ve been making hats for years and years, mostly for myself or to give away to family and friends.  Way back in 2005 I tried to sell them, without a whole lot of success. That is actually where the name Kay-Kay’s Bird Club came from, that was my brand name back then.  I’m a little nervous about doing this. But I’ve had a strong impulse lately to do something wild and creative and reach out beyond my comfort zone.

So to launch this new crazy idea of mine, I wanted to start with some fresh patterns. I think I have two patterns down that I’ll use to start. Try them out with different fabrics and see how they turn out.

One pattern here is a slouchy hat, with bows in the back for a feminine touch and adjustibility. I tried it in corduroy and also in flannel. Turned out nice in each but with a different look.

I also have a simpler hat that reminds me more of a kerchief look, something you’d toss on when you haven’t done your hair and want to look pulled together.  I used a pretty busy pattern fabric which adds zing to it since it’s a simple design.

When I get all this sorted out over the next few weeks or however long it takes me, I’ll put out a post so you can all check out my shop.

Author: Kay-Kay's Bird Club

Hat-maker, Bird lover, Star gazer, Scooter rider, and Running fool.

Leave a Reply

