a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more…

February Fitness Goals

1 Comment

My running has been inconsistent for a very long time. The more I think about it, I really think it’s because I haven’t done any organized race events, none in all of 2012. I used to regularly do a ton of all the local events. But last year, mostly due to my thin pocketbook (home remodel has really killed my bank account), race entry fees simply hadn’t been in the budget. I never realized how much of a motivator actually signing up for a race really is. I’ve just signed up for Portland’s Shamrock Run in March, and already I feel a new excitement.

Because my running has been so on-and-off, my goal for February is to just get back into a regular routine. Build a solid base of easy mileage, adding in a mix of hill workouts (via my trusty treadmill’s incline button), but without doing any speed nor tempo work, nor any really long miles.  Then I’ll run the Shamrock as a baseline test, just to see where I’m at, and make a plan from there.

The Shamrock has a 5K, 8K, and 15K. I’ve signed up for the 5K. I’ve usually done the 15K every year, with my ongoing goal (which I’ve come very close to but haven’t yet achieved) of finishing at an 8:00 min pace. But since I don’t think I’ll come anywhere close to making that time this round, I figure I’ll just do the 5K and see how I do.

Other than running, I’d like to do some work on strength training. Any strength training I’ve done has been even less consistent than running. When I look back through my fitness notes from last year, I see how far I’ve slipped.  At this time last year I was doing the P90X DVD series. I could do more reps with heavier weights than I can do today. It’s crazy how easily you lose fitness when you don’t consistently keep it up.

I’ve loaned all my P90X stuff to my brother in law. He’s had it all quite a while now, and I realize I may never get it back, unless he eventually reaches his bikini body by sometime this August. So getting back onto the P90X program is out. But I also think I’d rather start small. P90X is a pretty intense program, and I don’t want to do that much.  I’d rather start with smaller goals such as work on my pushups, which I can do anywhere with no equipment necessary. I’d also like to work on pullups again, and I have a crazy idea that I’d like to be able to leg-press my body weight (one day).  I have a long way to go with that one. But I’ve got to start somewhere, right?

So onward I go…

Author: Kay-Kay's Bird Club

Hat-maker, Bird lover, Star gazer, Scooter rider, and Running fool.

One thought on “February Fitness Goals

  1. Pingback: March running goals |

Leave a Reply

