a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more…

Treadmill Love <3

6 Comments

treadmill

It’s Christmas all over again.

My parents bought me a treadmill for Christmas, and it has finally arrived!

This isn’t going to be a review of treadmills by any means, nor is it an endorsement of Livestrong products. The price was a steal, actually, all Livestrong products appear to be 50% off. Whether this is related to Lance’s recent confession of doping, or because the products itself are not selling, or the products aren’t very good, or they’re a bunch of New Years deals, or all coincidence, who knows. Who cares. Not me.

I’ve only used the treadmill once so far, for an easy 4-miler. It was sturdy and had all the buttons and adjustments I like to use. So I have no complaints about this treadmill and seems to be just like any reasonable treadmill. It’s not one of the super fancy expensive types, nor is it an El Cheapo. So I’m satisfied. It took about 30-40 minutes to assemble and was very easy.

I really like that it folds up when not in use. Since I have it in a small bedroom, being able to fold it up to walk around it really help make the space useable.

Why I love treadmills…

Running on a treadmill will never, ever match the pleasure and experience of running outdoors. But I’ve started using the treadmill more and more and have gotten over my initial hatred of them. Perhaps I am becoming a huge wimp in my old age, but if I have already made up my mind that I am simply not going to go out for a run, and the only reason is because it’s pouring rain or just too cold, then why wouldn’t I hop on a treadmill and get a workout in?

I also like the idea that I can walk when not actually “doing a workout”. I have a pretty sedentary job, and often feel cooped up all the time sitting around. Being able to walk while I play on the computer or browse a magazine or watch TV seems like a good idea to me.

I also like being able to adjust the inclines. It’s hard to go on a run and find nice rolling hills or steep inclines when you want them. I’m actually terrible at running uphill since I get so little practice at it. Whenever I’m on a race course with a hill that’s my biggest weak spot. So I’m looking forward to purposely practice running up inclines regularly.

I do have a gym membership, so course can use the treadmills there. But, I don’t know about all of you, but my experience is that often I’ll get all dressed up, go to the gym, and then have to stand around waiting for a treadmill to use. And I can’t go off and do other things like lift weights, or I’ll lose my spot waiting. I hate that.

So I’m looking forward to putting some good mileage on my new toy! I’ll let you know how it goes.

What about you?

Do you own a treadmill? Do you like treadmill running?

Author: Kay-Kay's Bird Club

Hat-maker, Bird lover, Star gazer, Scooter rider, and Running fool.

6 thoughts on “Treadmill Love <3

  1. no clutch or brake lever… how you gonna stop ? πŸ™‚

  2. I still call them dreadmills. πŸ™‚ but I do use them regularly

    • aha ha, dreadmills. Yes that is pretty good. I didnt mention this in my post but I don’t think any of my treadmill workouts could be longer than about an hour. More than that would be a dreadmill workout.

      • Yes, six miles max for me. And I stop for a bout 30 seconds every two miles, because the dreadmill saps all my resolve.

      • Yes I actually do the same thing. Every mile I stop for a quick sip of water. Running inside is so much hotter so I get thirsty quickly. Also getting to each mile is a nice mental pause from the dreadmill…

Leave a Reply

