a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more…

Day 86 photo- pizza

3 Comments

I’ve been without a theme for photos this week, so feel a bit scattered. I really like having a theme to give me some direction.  I seem to be taking pictures of food a lot lately, so I think I’ll declare Food as my theme again for photos.

Last night made homemade pizza.

I split the recipe in half. I’ve found the full recipe will make 4 pizzas or 2 super giant-sized pizzeria-size pizzas.

  • 4 cups flour + more
  • 2 yeast packs
  • 3/4 cup white wine
  • 2 cups lukewarm water
  • 2 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt

Mix the water, oil, and salt in a small bowl.

Pour the flour in a larger bowl and create a well in the center.

Add yeast to the well, and half the water mixture.

Mix flour until well mixed, then add the rest of the water and continue mixing.

Add more flour as needed until it creates a dough. Knead until smooth.

Let rise 1 hour until doubled in size.

Punch down and separate into 4 balls (because the recipe makes 4 pizzas).

The 1 ball you want to use, let rise again 1 hour until doubled in size.

Roll out and put your toppings on.

Bake pizza at 425 for about 20-25 minutes.

Author: Kay-Kay's Bird Club

Hat-maker, Bird lover, Star gazer, Scooter rider, and Running fool.

3 thoughts on “Day 86 photo- pizza

  1. That sounds really interesting and delicious! I’ve never heard of adding white wine to pizza dough before but I bet it sure makes it taste good!

    • its a great recipe. by taste you can’t tell there’s wine it in, but you can sure smell the wine while it’s rising. it adds to the texture and must effect the way it rises. try it out and let me know how it turns out!

  2. Wow, yum! I’ll have to try this.

Leave a Reply

