a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more…

Smith & Bybee Lakes 04.24.12

3 Comments

I haven’t been out to Smith and Bybee Lakes since beginning of March. Honestly I’ve been trying to get out there the whole month of April but this month somehow slipped past me in a whirlwind.  I feel like since it’s been so long I’ve missed a critical transition from Winter to Spring. It would have really been nice to have captured some pictures from about 3-4 weeks ago.

It was 56 degrees out, overcast and gray, no rain. The weather basically has gone back to “normal” after 3 days of 80 degree summerish weather.

All plant life was bountiful with new green growth. Its really starting to fill in. The last several times I went out was so wintery with all trees bare.  The water level was amazingly high. I feel like each time I go out there I’m saying it was higher than the last time. It is true. I now wish I had had the forethought to mark the path down to Smith Lake somehow so I’d have some way to measure the water level.  Today the water level flooded most of the path to Smith Lake.  So just a picture of the flooded path today, no picture of the actual Smith Lake.

The Yellow-rumped Warblers and House Finches were the most plentiful today. The forest was absolutely filled with them. You couldn’t look anywhere without seeing ten in one spot.  I saw one adult bald eagle soar in a circle, but a juvenile sat perched for me so I could get a photo. I also spotted a Towhee up in a tree. I had never seen one perched in a tree before; they are always on the ground.  Some highlights for me today: was three Yellow Warblers- they were so bright and cheery in an otherwise overcast and gray day, and also a Tree Swallow that had trouble catching its lunch so went to the ground to tackle it.

Species list for today:

  • House Finch
  • Tree Swallow
  • Crow
  • Coot
  • Mourning Dove
  • Bewicks Wren
  • Brewers Blackbird
  • Red winged Blackbird
  • Robin
  • Canada Goose
  • Banana slug (is that even what they’re really called? or is that just what kids call them??)
  • Song Sparrows
  • Spotted Towhee
  • Bald Eagle adult
  • Bald Eagle juvenile
  • Yellow Rumped Warbler
  • Red Tailed Hawk
  • Great Blue Heron
  • Mallard
  • Marsh Wren
  • heard a zillions frogs like mad in the grasses by Bybee Lake
  • Osprey- also have an active nest just on the other side of the bridge to the entrance
  • Yellow Warbler
  • Hairy Woodpecker
Author: Kay-Kay's Bird Club

Hat-maker, Bird lover, Star gazer, Scooter rider, and Running fool.

3 thoughts on “Smith & Bybee Lakes 04.24.12

  1. Wow, what a wonderful experience! Hope I could go there too! Great post!

  2. Pingback: A day at Smith & Bybee Lakes. June 13, 2012 « Kay-Kay's Bird Club…

Leave a Reply

