a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more…

Weekly running summary

2 Comments

So the end of week 1 of my new running plan is complete as of yesterday, starting week 2 today. I always start my “weeks” on Sunday and run thru Saturday. I’ve heard lots of people say that they always start their “week” on Monday, but doing that just confuses me. A lot of plans you can get online for free also start the week on Monday. Somehow for me, the week always starts on Sunday. Its how my brain works. When I look at a calendar Sunday always starts it off. I usually never run on Sundays anyway, so I guess having Sunday being either the start or the end of a week shouldn’t matter.

Running summary for the week, in short, was 4 miles on Monday, 5 miles on Wednesday, 3 on Thursday, and 5 on Saturday. Total of 17 miles. The biggest thing I notice about all this, is how ticked off I really am that Strands took down their website. Did anyone else out there use Strands? I’ve used Strands for the past year and a half. I’ve been searching for what else is out there for free, online training logs, and am just not satisfied with what I’ve seen so far. So right now I’m just logging on paper, because it’s simple. Then I guess weekly I’m going to transfer the info into Excel so that I can look at averages, patterns, and make graphs and stuff, just ’cause I’m obsessed and geeky like that.

I’d take any suggestions anyone has for how they log their fitness routine, including mileage, pace, time, meals, and weight.

As I type this there is a little chickadee outside my window pulling sunflower seeds out of the bird feeder.

Logging off, gotta go to work.

Author: Kay-Kay's Bird Club

Hat-maker, Bird lover, Star gazer, Scooter rider, and Running fool.

2 thoughts on “Weekly running summary

  1. I didn’t ever use Strands, so I can’t compare directly, but I do a lot of my logging through mapmyrun.com. You can trace your routes through its map interface, and it calculates distance (and elevation!) for you. You can also upload your Garmin data. And then there’s a calendar to keep track of your distance, paces, other workouts, weight, how you were feeling, etc. I think there’s a food log feature too but I’m not certain, and I know there are training programs but I think you have to buy a “premium” account or some such.
    For training programs I signed up with runner’s world and use their smart coach feature–it proposes a pretty good mix of distance, tempo, and speed work, though I never progress as much as they suggest I will!

Leave a Reply

