a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more…

Starting the new year running

2 Comments

So I admit it, I haven’t been running. At all.

Pretty much I’ve only gone running a few times since October. I sortof just didn’t feel like it anymore. My body wanted a break, that’s for sure. But also I was really enjoying having no “running responsibilities” for awhile. I also enjoyed having time to spend with my friends and family again. One thing I know for sure, is that dedicating yourself to a marathon training program, your social life goes out the window. I really enjoyed all the time I had back socializing between October and the end of the year. That was really nice. I missed it.

But now it is a new year… so I’ve started running again.

I’m trying not to be cliche or anything. And I haven’t really thought of this start as a resolution or anything. The beginning of a month just always feels like a good time to start stuff anyway. And it’s when I started my running program last year, planning for the March and April races I like to do.

My first run was yesterday, just an easy 4 miler around the neighborhood. I realized how out of shape I am; it was harder than it should’ve been. The first mile was especially tough. The route I ran the first mile is a slight uphill, not a steep hill at all, just a street that has a slight uphill incline. I always need a mile anyway just to start out. I always do a mile warm up just to get ready to run, doing a mile even before I start a workout, which may include, for example, a two-lap warmup. Somehow I always need that mile at the beginning. The rest of the run went well and was really fun. I realized I miss running too, as much as I missed not running.

So anyway, I’ve started a new running plan, preparing to do some races this Spring. I will try to post as I go along, to see how I’m doing. I’m on the fence right now trying to decide if I want to run another marathon later this year. We’ll see how I feel about that in a few weeks.

Author: Kay-Kay's Bird Club

Hat-maker, Bird lover, Star gazer, Scooter rider, and Running fool.

2 thoughts on “Starting the new year running

  1. Thanks for liking my post and good luck with getting back into the routine. I understand about the need for breaks. Can’t wait to see more of your photography and read more about your adventures.

Leave a Reply

