a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more…

Pre-race routine

Leave a comment

I was just out for my 4.5 mile run, a regular loop I do from my house. The route is pretty routine for me that I can do it in my sleep. So since I didn’t have to pay too much attention to what I was doing, my mind was working ahead to create my pre-race checklist, and make sure I do all the things I need to do before marathon race morning Sunday. so this is the list of all the things to do Saturday.

Clip my toenails.

Pack my belt with water bottle, gels, pretzels, and dried fruit.

Lay out my breakfast: 1/2 to 3/4 cup oatmeal with 1 cup of milk and 2 Tbsp brown sugar. My tried and true favorite breakfast anytime but works well for me before long runs

Figure out what to have for dinner, which I will eat about 4:30-5:00pm. I’m thinking about scrambled eggs and a small bowl of pasta. I don’t want to eat later than 5 so that I can digest and process all that before eating again 12 or so hours later. A 12 hour window works well for me, otherwise I’m too full in the morning. I plan on having breakfast at 5:30-5:45.

Thinking about coloring my hair. Its time anyway.

Lay out my clothes, which includes my recent Goodwill $3.99 purchase of a pink long sleeve top to wear while it’s cold, to throwaway whenever that proper moment comes along.

Lay out my medipore tape, so I can tape my feet and toes where I get blisters.

Email and call family and friends.

Go out for a super easy 2 miler just to move the legs.

Pack a bag of warm clothes for after the run.

What else? I’ll keep thinking if I’ve missed anything.

What pre-race checklist items do you have? Any rituals or routines?

I don’t have any rituals (obviously! by looking at my list), I just wonder what others do the day before a big race.

Author: Kay-Kay's Bird Club

Hat-maker, Bird lover, Star gazer, Scooter rider, and Running fool.

Leave a Reply

